I’m not a big fan of anime, I haven’t watched anime really since the Sailor Moon days back in the 90’s. I did get into Sword Art and Fairy Tail a few years ago but I’ve rejected most Anime’s I’ve seen.

hatamao

Last year my boyfriend introduced me to The Devil Is A Part Timer.

I stumbled on A Court of Candles when I stumbled on bookish candles and there were a few Anime’s listed so I got curious. This was one of the Anime’s listed and Bubba had seen it before so we started watching it and I started looking forward to watching the rest of it but then it turns out this is one of those only 13 episode Anime’s.

Bubba insisted Lucifer was my spirit animal, unfortunately I can’t find photos of him eating which were always my favorite scenes. I wish he actually had more screen time, he was a pretty quirky character.

And he may or may not had been a spirit animal.

~*~

Since then he’s made it a point to introduce me to more anime’s and picks ones he thinks I’ll enjoy the most — they tend to either be something cutesy and supernatural or having to do with fantasy, gaming life or food.

Sounds about right.

There were a few sport ones he got into last year I remember him binge watching and he even got some figures of one of them but I haven’t watched that one yet. One sport one he did introduce me to was Yuri On Ice.

1589056_English_ShowDetailHeroSite_71a439cc-c7d6-e611-80c5-0017a4776c06

I wish I had thought to start an anime blog when we were watching this one cause I got a bit invested in it and I’m so sad it was another short one but I enjoyed it so much! I loved Victor and his dog and I loved Yuri!

The fact that the series started off as him as a mess over the loss of his dog and the idea he failed at his own sport forcing him to go home and reevaluate himself was such a relate-able opening.

Then seeing him when Victor sort of just barged into his life and seeing his confidence rebuild and how hard he pushed himself to be a better version of the person he was when he was last skating.

I admired Yuri’s determination and especially the transformation he went through! Going from a really doubtful insecure skater and within time and practice gaining confidence? That’s a message for you! And it didn’t skip over the parts where even if he was starting to feel confident he would still slip back into his worries and insecurities.

Though this was a shorter anime series, I’m surprised how connected you felt to the characters by the end of the first season and how every character had a distinct personal trait to them. It was easy to follow and easy to remember who was who (which is something I struggle with remembering especially in anime’s). I don’t remember the name of the kid with the hamsters but oh I wish he had more screen time! Hamsters are a weaaaaaaaakness.

YOI-Yuri-beautiful-katsudon-quote-screen-shot

And finding a love that drives you, even if that love is for FOOD (which I can absolutely relate to)! You go Yuri! You go be the most beautiful Pork Cutlet Bowl! Which I mean is a pretty hard claim cause have you seen anime food shots? Like, they’re pretty dang beautiful.

ff5ac0d9806cb07a99fc1ab9c8f8f6961477968148_full

I MEAN LOOK AT IT.

I don’t know what that green stuff on top of it is or what that green thing to side is, I guess a huge sushi thing? I’m not entirely sure. But man that looks good! SO GOOD IN FACT. That Bubba and I went on a hunt to try whatever the heck Pork Cutlet is.

Sorry, I opted for Udon. It was like 20* that day, I’m a bitch when it comes to cold (this is what happens when a Floridian moves to Texas) and the Pork Cutlet wasn’t in a bowl like I had hoped but he said it was amazing. I had a bite of the pork and it was a crazy combination going on in my mouth! I’m happy my (maybe our?) favorite sushi spot in DFW so far has it but that doesn’t mean I’m stopping my search for the prettiest Pork Cutlet Bowl in the area!

But still, glad we got to try it.

I’m always glad for adventures.

Leave a comment